Three ryokan in Hakone say on their own websites that they will cook a vegan dinner: Kinnotake Tonosawa, Kinnotake Sengokuhara and Matsuzakaya Honten. All three belong to the same group and all three want 3 days' notice. Not one of them says what goes into the dashi. This is the Hakone-only follow-up to our national vegetarian and vegan ryokan guide: each inn's exact wording, what it leaves out, the rates on its own booking page, and a message in Japanese to send before you pay.

Which Hakone ryokan will cook a vegan dinner?

Three, and they share an owner. Kinnotake Tonosawa, Kinnotake Sengokuhara and Matsuzakaya Honten print the same line on their cuisine pages: vegan, vegetarian and pescatarian meals are available if you ask by 3 days before your stay, through the inquiry form. Three more Hakone inns offer vegetarian but write that they cannot do vegan. Every other inn we checked is silent, which means ask first and assume nothing.

Inn (area)Vegan in writing?DashiEgg & dairyNoticeExtra charge
Kinnotake Tonosawa (Tonosawa)Yes: vegan, vegetarian, pescatarianNot stated — ask in writingNot itemised — confirm3 days, inquiry formNot stated
Kinnotake Sengokuhara (Sengokuhara)Yes: same wordingNot stated — ask in writingNot itemised — confirm3 days, inquiry formNot stated
Matsuzakaya Honten (Ashinoyu)Yes: same wordingNot stated — ask in writingNot itemised — confirm3 days, inquiry formNot stated
Fujiya Hotel (Miyanoshita; hotel, not ryokan)Yes: priced vegan menuNot named; menu is 'no animal-derived ingredients'Excluded by that definitionNot stated for the dinner courseMenu price: ¥19,000 dinner, ¥4,900 breakfast
Hakone Fuga (Sengokuhara)No: vegetarian only, vegan refusedNot stated — ask in writingNot stated3 daysNot stated
Merveille Hakone Gora (Gora)No: vegetarian only, vegan refusedNot stated — ask in writingNot stated3 daysNot stated
Gora Kadan, Kaiseki Kadan (Gora)No: vegetarian 'Shunsai' onlyNot stated — ask in writingMay contain egg and dairy2 daysFixed price ¥15,125
Motoyu Kansuiro (Tonosawa)Nothing publishedNot stated — ask in writingNot statedNot statedNot stated
What 'vegan' means at each Hakone property, from its own website (checked Oct 19, 2026)

What each inn actually promises

All three vegan-capable inns promise the same things and nothing more: vegan on request, 3 days' notice, the inquiry form as the channel, and no gluten-free, because the kitchen will not cook without miso and soy sauce. None lists a surcharge, none defines vegan, and none mentions the stock in its dietary notes. Where they differ is price, children, access and where dinner is served.

Kinnotake Tonosawa. 21 rooms, each with an open-air bath on the terrace, and no guests under 12. The featured rate on the official site on October 19 was ¥84,150 per room with meals, for a Sora room on a January 2027 night; other dates price differently. From Hakone-Yumoto, take the Hakone Tozan bus from stop 2 toward Hakonemachi-ko or Moto-Hakone-ko, about 7 minutes to Deyama, then walk 3 minutes. The inn also runs a shuttle from the station at ¥200 one way.

Kinnotake Sengokuhara. 9 rooms, all with a private open-air bath, and the early-booking plan serves dinner in your room. On October 19 its booking page started at ¥99,000 for two with dinner and breakfast (non-refundable, booked 60 days ahead); the standard kyo-kaiseki plan was ¥132,000 for two. Its online booking takes adults (12 and over) only, so families with younger children need to ask the inn first. Take bus route T from Hakone-Yumoto platform 3, about 30 minutes to Daigadake, then 3 minutes on foot. A car pickup from Odawara or Hakone-Yumoto needs 3 days' notice.

Matsuzakaya Honten. A 360-year-old inn in Ashinoyu with 21 rooms, 11 of them with a private open-air bath, and the only one of the three with child rates on its booking page. Its booking page started at ¥57,750 for two with dinner and breakfast (non-refundable, 60 days ahead) and ¥77,000 on the standard plan, tax included. Take bus route H from Hakone-Yumoto toward Hakonemachi-ko or Moto-Hakone-ko, about 25 minutes to Higashi-Ashinoyu, then 3 minutes on foot.

One name you will see on vegan lists is Motoyu Kansuiro, a registered cultural property in Tonosawa owned by the same group. Travelers on Reddit describe vegan dinners there, but its own website publishes no dietary policy at all, so treat it as an ask-first inn, not a confirmed one.

Vegetarian, not vegan, in their own words. Hakone Fuga (in Sengokuhara, despite what some lists say) and Merveille Hakone Gora are sister Relo hotels: both cook a vegetarian dinner and breakfast with 3 days' notice, and both write ビーガン、ハラールの対応は致しかねます — vegan and halal are not possible. Gora Kadan's restaurant sells a 9-course vegetarian kaiseki, Shunsai, at ¥15,125 including tax and service, reserved at least 2 days ahead. The Hakone tourism association's listing adds that the course may contain egg and dairy.

The dashi question: what no Hakone inn puts in writing

None of the Hakone properties above says whether its vegan or vegetarian meal uses fish-free dashi. Kinnotake Tonosawa's page talks up its dashi in the general cuisine text but leaves it out of the dietary notes; the Relo hotels and Gora Kadan never mention it. That is not proof they use bonito. It means the answer exists only in the inn's reply to you, so ask the question by name.

Why it matters in practice: the stock is rarely a separate item. It sits inside the miso soup, the simmered vegetables and the tempura dipping sauce, and inside ready-made seasonings such as mentsuyu (noodle sauce), dashi-iri miso (miso with stock already added) and dashi shoyu. A kitchen can cook a plant-only menu and still reach for one of those bottles, so name them. The Fujiya Hotel is the one partial exception: it defines its vegan menu as dishes made without animal-derived ingredients, which rules out katsuobushi by definition, although it never uses the word dashi.

If your reason is an allergy rather than ethics, the inns are blunt. All three Kinnotake-group cuisine pages say they cannot guarantee complete removal of allergens and may ask a guest with a severe allergy not to eat the meal. For that conversation, send our Japanese allergy card instead of the message below: it states severity, which a vegan request does not.

The message to send (Japanese and English)

Send this through the inn's inquiry form or by email as soon as you have a booking number, not 3 days before. It rules out meat, fish, egg and dairy, names every hidden fish source in the stock, and asks two closed questions: can you do this for every dish, and is there an extra charge. A written yes to both is what you are after. Copy it, fill in the brackets, send.

件名:ヴィーガン食のお願い([日付]ご宿泊・[お名前])

[旅館名] ご担当者様

[日付]から[泊数]泊で予約しております[お名前]です(予約番号:[番号])。[人数]名がヴィーガンのため、夕食・朝食を次の内容でご用意いただけますでしょうか。

・肉、魚介類、卵、乳製品(牛乳・バター・チーズ・生クリーム)、はちみつを使わないでください。

・だしは、かつお節・煮干し・魚介エキスを使わず、昆布だしまたは椎茸だしでお願いいたします。

・めんつゆ、だし入り味噌、だし醤油など、魚のだしを含む調味料も使わないでください。

夕食・朝食のすべての料理でこの対応が可能かどうか、また追加料金の有無を、ご返信いただけますと幸いです。どうぞよろしくお願いいたします。

In English: Subject: Vegan meal request ([date] stay, [name]). To the reservations team at [inn name]: I have a booking for [number] night(s) from [date] (booking number [number]). [Number] of us are vegan. Could you prepare dinner and breakfast as follows? No meat, seafood, egg, dairy (milk, butter, cheese, cream) or honey. For the stock, please use kombu or shiitake dashi, with no katsuobushi (bonito flakes), niboshi (dried sardines) or seafood extract. Please also avoid seasonings that contain fish stock, such as mentsuyu, dashi-iri miso and dashi soy sauce. Could you tell me whether this is possible for every dish at dinner and breakfast, and whether there is an extra charge? Thank you very much.

If the reply is a soft できる限り対応いたします (we will do our best), write back with one line: だしは昆布だしで対応可能でしょうか? (Can the stock be kombu dashi?). Screenshot the final yes and show it at check-in. Do not pay a non-refundable rate before you have it.

Prices and getting there

Budget ¥57,750 to ¥132,000 for two people for one night with dinner and breakfast at the three vegan-capable inns, from the rates their own booking pages showed on October 19, 2026; the lower figures are non-refundable plans booked 60 days out. All three sit on Hakone Tozan bus routes from Hakone-Yumoto, 7 to 30 minutes up the hill.

For what an ordinary Hakone ryokan costs when food is not the constraint, see our Hakone ryokan budget guide. Traveling with tattoos too? A room with its own open-air bath, like the ones above, sidesteps the question; our tattoo-friendly onsen in Hakone guide covers the public and private baths.

From Tokyo, the Romancecar from Shinjuku to Hakone-Yumoto takes about 80 minutes; its limited express ticket is ¥1,200 on top of the regular fare. The Hakone Freepass is ¥7,100 for 2 days from Shinjuku, or ¥6,000 from Odawara, and covers the Hakone Tozan train and buses within its designated area, but not the Romancecar ticket. Tonosawa is the shortest ride if you arrive late; Sengokuhara is the longest.

Vegan lunch in Hakone

Two places publish a vegan option. The Fujiya Hotel in Miyanoshita has the widest choice on its vegan menu page, from a green salad to a vegetable set lunch that needs 3 days' notice. BOX BURGER in Miyagino lists a vegan burger on its own site. Gora Kadan's Shunsai lunch is vegetarian only. Everything else on the Hakone loop means reading labels or asking at the counter.

Fujiya Hotel: 野菜御膳 (vegetable set meal) at the Kikkaso annex, ¥7,500, 11:30–14:00, reserved 3 days ahead; a seven-vegetable platter with tomato sauce at Restaurant Cascade, ¥1,600; a green salad in the main dining room, ¥1,800, both served 12:00–14:00 and 17:30–20:00. All three appear on the hotel's vegan menu page, which also warns that the kitchen cooks with onion, garlic and other alliums.

BOX BURGER: the Hakone tourism association's listing for the Miyagino main store says the bun and sauce can be switched to versions without egg or dairy, and that the banana shake is made with almond milk. Open 11:00–15:30 and 17:00–19:30, irregular closing days; Hakone Tozan bus from Hakone-Yumoto, about 17 minutes to Myojindaira, then 2 minutes on foot. There is a second branch 7 minutes' walk from Hakone-Yumoto station; ask there whether the vegan burger is on.

Gora Kadan: Shunsai is also served at lunch, 11:00–15:00 (last order 13:30), to non-guests, at the same ¥15,125 and with the same 2-day reservation. It is a vegetarian course that may contain egg and dairy, so it suits vegetarians, not vegans.

Frequently asked questions

Which vegan-capable Hakone ryokan takes a toddler?

Matsuzakaya Honten. It is the only one of the three vegan-capable inns that publishes child rates, and 11 of its 21 rooms have a private open-air bath. Kinnotake Tonosawa does not accept guests under 12, and Kinnotake Sengokuhara's online booking takes adults (12 and over) only, so ask the inn before you book. Send the vegan request for the adults and say what the child will eat.

A Reddit post says Kansuiro served a great vegan kaiseki. Is that still true?

Possibly, but nothing on Motoyu Kansuiro's own website confirms it: it publishes no dietary policy at all. It belongs to the same group as the three inns that do write vegan down, so it is worth asking. Send the Japanese message above before you pay, and book a refundable rate until you have a written yes.

Should I just say 'vegan' even if I am vegetarian or only avoid fish?

At the three Kinnotake-group inns, no: vegan, vegetarian and pescatarian are separate options, so pick the one you mean. At Hakone Fuga and Merveille Hakone Gora vegetarian is the ceiling, because vegan is refused in writing. Whatever you choose, add the dashi line: none of these labels is defined on the inns' sites.

Can I get a vegan kaiseki at Gora Kadan?

No. Kaiseki Kadan's only plant-based course is Shunsai, 9 dishes at ¥15,125 including tax and service, booked at least 2 days ahead. The restaurant says it cannot do vegan, gluten-free or halal, and the Hakone tourism association's listing notes the course may contain egg and dairy.

Does ticking 'vegan' on the request form mean no bonito dashi?

Nobody in Hakone says so in writing. The three vegan-capable inns do not define vegan or mention stock in their dietary notes. Ask for kombu or shiitake dashi by name and name the bottled seasonings too: mentsuyu, dashi-iri miso and dashi soy sauce.

Is there vegan food if I am only day-tripping the Hakone loop?

A little. The Fujiya Hotel in Miyanoshita lists a vegetable platter (¥1,600) and a green salad (¥1,800) on its vegan menu page, at lunch and dinner, plus a ¥7,500 vegetable set meal with 3 days' notice. BOX BURGER in Miyagino lists a vegan burger. Otherwise, carry food from Hakone-Yumoto.

Is there an extra charge for a vegan menu?

None of the Hakone inns publishes one. The only priced vegan meals in the area are the Fujiya Hotel's: ¥19,000 for the dinner course and ¥4,900 for breakfast. The message above asks the inn directly, so the answer is in writing before you pay.